Skip to main content

Legacy FAC-C Certification Requirements

The Federal Acquisition Certification in Contracting (FAC-C) Program is for contracting professionals in the federal government performing contracting and procurement activities and functions. The purpose of this program is to establish general education, training, and experience requirements for those contracting professionals. The FAC-C applies to all executive agencies, except the Department of Defense.

Legacy FAC-C Requirements

NOTE: In order to be considered for a FAC-C legacy certification, you must initiate your certification request in FAI CSOD no later than Feb. 15, 2023. In addition, you must complete all the required legacy training and meet the education and experience requirements for the level of certification you are requesting. All legacy applicants must apply for certification by Sept. 30, 2023.

Level I

Level II

Level III


One (1) year of contract work experience based on the Contract Specialist (GS-1102) Qualification Standard Two (2) years of contract work experience based on the Contract Specialist (GS-1102) Qualification Standard Four (4) years of contract work experience based on the Contract Specialist (GS-1102) Qualification Standard


Baccalaureate degree from an accredited institution or 24 semester hours of business-related college courses Baccalaureate degree from an accredited institution or 24 semester hours of business-related college courses Baccalaureate degree from an accredited institution and 24 semester hours of business-related college courses


Note: All courses with the prefix CON must be provided by a DAU equivalent vendor. Equivalency end dates for CON 091, CON 121, CON 124, CON 127, CON 170, CON 200, CON 216, CON 280, CON 290 and CON 360 are considered valid for federal certification until 9/30/23. It is strongly recommended that courses be taken in the order presented.

  • CON 091 Contract Fundamentals (instructor-led)
  • Choose 1 of the following:
    • CON 100 Shaping Smart Business Arrangements (self-paced online)
    • FCN 101 Contracting Basics (self-paced online)
  • CON 121 Contract Planning (instructor-led or self-paced online)
  • CON 124 Contract Execution (instructor-led or self-paced online)
  • CON 127 Contract Management (instructor-led or self-paced online)
  • FAC 023 Basic Contracting for GSA Schedules (self-paced online)
  • FAC 031 Small Business Programs (self-paced online)
  • CLC 056 Analyzing Contract Costs (self-paced online)
  • CLC 057 Performance-Based Payment & Value of Cash Flow (self-paced online)
  • CLC 058 Introduction to Contract Pricing (self-paced online)
  • CON 170 Fundamentals of Cost and Price Analysis (instructor-led)
    Alternative Course IDs: CON 170 – 64 or CON 170 – 80 
  • FCL-CM-2500 Category Management 101 (self-paced online)

Before beginning Level II training, all Level I training must be completed

  • CON 200 Business Decisions for Contracting (instructor-led or self-paced online)
  • CON 216 Legal Considerations in Contracting (instructor-led or self-paced online)
  • CON 0510 Managing Government Property in the Possession of Contractors (self-paced online)
  • HBS 428 Negotiating (self-paced online)
  • CON 280 Source Selection and Administration of Service Contracts (instructor-led) Prerequisites CON 0510; HBS 428; CON 200; CON 216; CON 170; CLC 056
  • CON 290 Contract Administration and Negotiation Techniques in a Supply Environment (instructor-led) Prerequisites: CON 0510; HBS 428; CON 200; CON 216; CON 170, CLC 056

Before beginning Level III training, all Level I and II training must be completed

  • CON 360 Contracting for Decision Makers (instructor-led)
    Alternative Course IDs: CON 360 – 64 or CON 360 – 80
  • Select an HBS module other than HBS 428
  • Choose 1 of the following:
    • 32 hours of electives4
    • ACQ 265 Mission-Focused Services Acquisition
    • ACQ 315 Understanding Industry
    • ACQ 370 Acquisition Law
    • ACQ 3700 Acquisition Law
    • ACQ 3700V Acquisition Law
    • CON 244 Construction Contracting
    • CON 2440V Construction Contracting

1Experience The requirements for experience are generally based upon the Contract Specialist (GS-1102) Qualifications Standard. Experience may be time spent on the job in a contracting-related job assignment, either in the private or public sector, which reflects the accumulation of knowledge, skills and abilities during years of progressively responsible work assignments. There is no exception to the experience requirement and candidates must provide evidence of their experience to their certifying official. Experience can be tracked using the 1102 Experience Development Tool. Satisfaction of experience requirements from one certification level may be applied to the satisfaction of experience requirements of a higher certification level.

2Education While the senior procurement executive of a civilian agency may waive the education and training requirements for an applicant for a GS-13 position and above, this waiver is not transferable to another agency and does not apply toward the requirements for the FAC-C. For more information on the education requirement, visit OPM’s Classification and Qualification page.

3Training Fulfillment may be used by contracting professionals with significant experience as an alternative way to meet the training requirements for certification. Fulfillment should be used when appropriate and in compliance with agency policy. The fulfillment process is based on documentation that demonstrates how a workforce member met or accomplished each of the performance outcomes and learning objectives in a specific course. This may be based on contracting experience, alternative training, or another type of certification in the area of contracting and procurement by another organization or other developmental activities. For specific questions about how to submit for fulfillment, please contact your acquisition career manager.

432 Hours of Electives The 32 hours of electives may be one course or a series of courses. Each course should be at least eight hours in length and can be classroom, online, or a combination of the two. Topics must be related to acquisition and may include general business courses such as statistics or budgeting. Topics of subject areas may also be in a technical area related to the individual’s specific work, such as IT. Agencies have the option of specifying the courses their workforce members must take to meet the 32 hours of electives.

Legacy Competency Model

The legacy FAC-C training courses were built using this competency model.

Legacy FAC-C Policies

Legacy FAC-C Policy Documents (rescinded as of Feb. 1, 2023).  


An official website of the General Services Administration

Looking for U.S. government information and services?